Our very own blog for Twilighters in Singapore!

Stephenie Meyer’s Mini Fansite Junket for Eclipse (Part Two)

Fansite members doing the ' Bree beheading Scene' with Stephenie Meyer

We posted Part ONE of Stephenenie Meyer’s Exclusive Fansite Junket  last month and here’s the continuation. Thanks to Twilight Lexicon and the 4 fansites Twifans, Twilight Source, Twilight Series Theories and Letters to Twilight.

Stephenie: If I were to go ahead with it, he would definitely come up again. After his character sort of warmed he would fit into a rightly place. I don’t see Edward actively seeking him out. Having the knowledge he had gotten from Bree he realizes that Fred probably wouldn’t appreciate that pretty much, but I do see them crossing paths. I was really relieved in a way, I didn’t see anybody surviving. And so as Fred started developing it was really a relief to let someone survive and for someone you care about.

Twilight Series Theories: I just loved the introduction to the book that you did say “I was writing this and I did have a hard time that I made this decision before…” That helped me through.

Stephenie: By the end, you know, when I first started out I didn’t even think about it, I was thinking “this will be cool” it was all about the mechanics of it. And then when you start like “I have to kill her”. On set it was crazy because Jodelle is teeny. She is this little – actually she looked a little younger even though she is fifteen. My Bree in the book was grown up looking because she had a hard life but Jodelle did a really good job. They cut a scene of hers where I really think she captured her. I hope it makes it on the DVD. But, then you have Daniel Cudmore, who is – you can’t even tell in the movies but he is a monster!

Twilight Series Theories: And beautiful. (laughs)

Stephenie: He is so properly proportionate so that if you took a normal six-foot person and you blew them up. He is just so big. I remember the first time I met him I asked him like an idiot “How tall are you?”

(Everyone laughs)

Stephenie: The first time I met him, he was in the full Volturi garb with his eyes. It was impressive. So he was coming over to rip up the little girl and the difference between them was really – it made me sad. And you watch it all day because you shoot the scene in fourteen different ways all day long so they keep killing her over and over again.

Twilight Source: You know, I was saying this to Matt before and I feel like the fact that Bree’s life, how tragic it is in the fact that she dies, is a really juxtaposition to the series that we see from Bella’s perspective. Because, you always hear Edward saying, “This is a really tough life and this is not something that you want to be”.

Stephenie: And no one ever believes him.

Read MORE at Twilight Series Theories


What do you think Stephenie thinks of Angryward and Edward threatening Jacob for kissing Bella? Does she agree, does she thinks he’s hot?

Kim: Okay, we have a question about the Angry Edward, and how hot he is. When he gets angry, he pulls up, and he’s like…ya know……if you ever touch her against her will again. All the fans just love it. We all love it and everybody went crazy. The members, our members, we all wanna know about angry Edward.

Alison: Why do you think the fandom thinks Angry Edward is SO hot?

SM: Ya know it’s funny about this scene, and Meghan’s giving me the eye. That’s the one I walked out on, on the dailies because in my head that scene was so much different. In the movie Edward is quite separate motivation-ally from the book Edward. At this point in the film in the story for me he’s gotten past this. Like he’s realized “I can’t act like a teenage boy anymore. I have to give her space. I have to be the mature one here.” And in that scene in the book, he has, icy calm control. He is very gentle. He is very soft spoken. He is very mature. So when I see him….and plus ya know, the movies are unable to bring to life some of the elements in the mythology. If Edward had, in anger, grabbed Jacob by the shoulder, his arm would have come off. And the fact that Taylor is uninjured, and that he just kind of sits there…..bothered me. So I’m like…wait! If we are gonna go for it, tear his arm off. Ya know. And it’s hard for them, because blood puts you over the limit and stuff, and they would not tear off Jacob’s arm. I’m like….if we want angry Edward, I wanna see some blood. They had already filmed that day, so we couldn’t redo it but, people have responded really well to it.

Kim: That is the thing because it is different than the book.

Alison: He’s as close to a vampire as we’ve seen him, because he was so restrained.

SM: And restraint is pretty much his middle name. And we don’t have the scene early in the book, where she comes back from La Push, and he’s like “are you trying to make me insane?” He really lost it. We don’t have that evolution where he goes overboard. We have a little bit, the battery disabling. Which is really over the line, and then he’s supposed to learn and he’s supposed to stop. By that point, we’re so far in, it’s like….”why is he still acting like this?” But okay, it is hot…I’ll give you that.

Kim: It turned out well considering it was a deviation from the book, and anyway……we liked it.

Often scenes from the books are changed or left out all together for the flow of the movie. Stephenie explains how and why she picks her battles when it comes to depicting her books into movies.

LTT: When do you choose your battles? In seeing the movie and the book. You have the book, they have a vision. They throw out a line, and you’re like “They would have never
said that”

SM: It’s really difficult. Because you do have to choose which ones you won’t bow down on. And I know that even when I really say “Okay, I cannot live with that” It’s still 1 out of 10 I’ll get it. When I really throw a fit. Which is rare. It is really rare because I realize ya know, they’re making a movie. When they come to me for advice, I’m happy say things. There are very few things that I will….and its things that just feel so wrong, that there’s no other way. And some of them are such small little things that, like with the…(?) we were talking about. A lot of that was (?) related. It’s harder than you would
think. It’s funny. Some things you take for granted in movies. And it’s amazing how difficult
some things are to do. One of the reasons we were back there was because, there was one blocking issue I had. And nobody else cared, but for me, it was such a key blocking thing. It physically had to look this way. That one, I was like “I really have to have this. I can’t see this like this” & everyone was like really?

Alison: All the fans would have cared. Not one fan would have been happy with that.

Kim: Was that with the tent scene?

Alison: We heard he was sitting up, and……now. La,la,la….he’s laying down.

SM: Lying down, no that’s not it

Alison: Oh, okay

SM: It’s when they are in the sleeping bag together. How do you visualize that?

Alison: Sexy hot

SM: In the original

TST: Don’t ruin the surprise

SM: That’s the expectation

Alison: The surprise would have been, what it was

SM: The one thing I scheduled my whole schedule around in Eclipse was I had to be there for
the tent scene was number one. That was on the calendar. And I had the other scenes in
order of priority, and I had those dates booked. I was already going to Vancouver and they had a weather problem. They filmed it when I wasn’t there. So I’m like “Okay, I’m not gonna panic.” But in the original version, Jacob gets into the sleeping bag (whispers) and doesn’t touch her.

Alison: Like just his legs are gonna keep her warm from the bottom of the sleeping bag?

*chatter*

SM: It’s impossible to keep someone warm when doing that. And then you have the extra added thing. This is the girl he is in love with and he’s in a sleeping bag with her….I mean, come on. I was just
like, “what…why aren’t you touching her? Why isn’t he touching her?” People are going to freak out.

Alison: Everybody would have freaked out

SM: It doesn’t make sense that he would do that and you’d sit there and say “why? He’s supposed to be warming her up, right?” Even if you had no baggage from reading the books, you would still have the same reaction.

Alison: It’s almost like…..common sense (a bunch of mumbling) It’s great now!

*chatter*

Kim: The re-shoot worked. It was great. The emotion that was in the book was in that scene.

SM: It was interesting, because the original script for it, I was fine with but then they tweaked the script because they felt like one part of the conversation got a lot more in depth in the original we kind of already knew. You know, you have the whole rehash when Edward’s talking about “when I first met her” and they pulled that and instead went with the later part of the scene where Jacob’s like “how did you cope?” And I think the emotionality of it just went through the roof.

Kim: The dialogue between Rob and Jake, I mean Edward and Jacob

Alison: And it was so long, and I loved how long it was

SM: Yeah! I love that they just let it happen. I think that, that was Rob’s best day of shooting.
It was so funny, did you guys hear all the rumors about the problems? Rob was only supposed to be there for the last day. The first two were Jacob and Bella scenes where the wig had been a problem. The last day was the tent was the tent and that was it & it was a pretty easy shoot. The only problem for that day was that Kristen had the stomach flu and luckily, she was supposed to lay there, but between every like scene, oh, she was so sick. And Taylor, he was over digging around, grabbing garbage cans. Why is Taylor taking the garbage? Takes them over there so she could puke in them.
It was so sweet. Everybody was taking care of her and everything, but it was a hard day. You look at actors and a lot of people are like “I wanna be an actor” it’s so hard and then to sit there. She’s wanting to puke and she’s all feverish, and she’s having to do the shivering. She was a work horse that day. That was our only drama was that poor Kristen got sick, and I think it was food poisoning. But it was a great shoot. It was one of those days where at the end you’re like “We really killed it today! It’s gonna be great!” It was a great day.

Read MORE over at Twifans especially what Stephenie’s gonna do on the set of  The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 & 2

One response

  1. beth

    iam fan of theharlie books eclipse is one of my favorites i have seen the movie twice and a little diapointed with scene were edword tells jake not to ever touch her agin aginst her will its my favorite scene and was all excited to see it and then it was like they changed it.why and charlie hass to enterrupt for me it was ok but i know it could have been so much better then they way they filmed it.but i will still watch over and over agin love all the twilight films as well as the books,i really hope they keep bd more like the book aspecially the confertatione between bella gets her wedding present from edword and its jake and then bella tells him she can have a real houneymoon and jake freaks out and starts to lose it and edword hass to tell him to let go of her know.that part is going to be awsome to see well ok the whole movie will be cant wait for that one.its also sad cause its the last one,but i really hoping that youll continue the writing on these even if goes in a different way i dont think your fans would care as long as cullens were involved and of course the wolf pack iwould love to see how nessie and jake get married and if edword can let her go after all shes a daddys girl.love them all keep doing your wonderful work.and congrats on all of them and hopefully many more to come aswell.

    August 1, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

